COFFEE AT MIDNIGHT IS ALWAYS A BAD IDEA

Standard

I should be snuggled up in bed with my tiny human right now. Instead I’m sitting in front of my computer trying to force out 500 words for a content mill, an unpaid article for a geek website and a blog post over a cup of lukewarm coffee. I’m trying not to fall asleep. The screen goes blurry for a second and all I want to do is tuck myself in and hibernate for the next 12 hours. Why am I forcing myself to get all of it done tonight?

Oh, that’s right… Because it should have been done by 4 p.m. this afternoon. It probably would have been too if my little human would sleep for more than 40 minutes at a time. He is what some people call high needs or intense. I just call him crazy, although intense definitely does describe him. He has a lot of personality and curiosity packed into his little body. And persistence. How could I ever forget the persistence? He is determined to do, touch, see, taste, shake and throw everything. And if he can’t, he throws temper tantrums like a two year old. (See here)

In a cruel turn of fate, redirection doesn’t work on him.

And now I’m trying to bang out around 1500 words on what a friend of mine calls an empty brain. I don’t see it happening tonight.

Leave a Reply

